Morning Devotional: “Have You No Trust Even Now?”

trust

“That day, when evening had come, Yahushua said to them, ‘Let’s cross to the other side of the lake.’So, leaving the crowd behind, they took him just as he was, in the boat; and there were other boats with him. A furious windstorm arose, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was close to being swamped.But he was in the stern on a cushion, asleep. They woke him and said to him, ‘Rabbi, doesn’t it matter to you that we’re about to be killed?’ He awoke, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, ‘Quiet! Be still!’ The wind subsided, and there was a dead calm.He said to them, ‘Why are you afraid? Have you no trust even now?’But they were terrified and asked each other, ‘Who can this be, that even the wind and the waves obey him?’ (Mark 4: 35-41, CJB)

This is one of my favorite stories concerning the life of our Savior Yahushua. Almost everytime that I read it, I gain something new from it every time. There is so much to learn from the words of Yahushua.

The thing most often pointed out is how Yahushua was sleeping in the middle of the storm. This is a very profound picture image indeed–especially if one compares a wooden, 1st century, Galilean fishing boat to boats of today. How could anyone be sound asleep in a boat that was about to be swamped?! (I guess you wouldn’t be afraid of drowning if you could walk on water.) Yahushua simply got up and scolded the waves to be still as if he were talking to a toddler child who kept getting out of bed at night. This was definitely a time when the disciples were still getting to know who Yahushua was and witness his spiritual authority.

What is new to me this morning is how Yahushua’s question to the disciples regarding their trust in Him. Paraphrased in today’s vernacular, he’s saying, “You mean you still don’t trust me?” This hits home for me.
During the summer of 2009, much of my personal study time was spent studying peace. I know it’s an over-used church cliche, but I was going through a serious “storm” that I felt I had no control over. I was always worrying, and anxious for my life, well-being and future. I was told that Christians were suppose to have a peace once converting to the faith, but fear was an area I always struggled in–and still do on a lesser scale. Though I still don’t have the “peace practice” down–one thing I did correct was the misconception that I had of peace, which was that “peace” was synonymous with “quiet”. But this is wrong. Quietness is simply the absence of noise, while peace is a stillness that one may have in the midst of chaos because of security held in Yahweh. I believe that true peace can only come from the Creator, who made order out of chaos.

“Don’t worry about anything; on the contrary, make your requests known to Yahweh by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving.Then Yahweh’s shalom, passing all understanding, will keep your hearts and minds safe in union with the Messiah Yahushua.”- (Philippians 4:6-7 CJB) by Kendra Love

Leave a Reply

